NIKA to run Honda in WTCC TC2 class

NIKA Racing confirms its place on the WTCC grid in 2014 with a TC2 specification Honda Civic for Japanese driver Yukinori Taniguchi.
NIKA Racing has announced it will return to the FIA World Touring Car Championship in 2014 with a TC2 specification Honda Civic.

The Swedish team was a revelation during the first-half of the 2013 season with Michel Nykjaer taking his privateer Chevrolet Cruze to three race wins.

However, despite being in contention for the Independents Trophy and getting as high as second position in the overall standings, financial woes would consign Nykjaer to the sidelines during the latter events, leaving NIKA to see out the season with stand-in drivers.

Nonetheless, NIKA returns in 2014, albeit in the TC2 category for older specification models, entering a Honda Civic for Japanese driver Yukinori Taniguchi, winner of the inaugural Asian Trophy Title in 2013.

“2013 was a fantastic year for NIKA Racing, and we are thrilled to remain in the WTCC,” said team principal Nicklas Karlsson. “It's with great pleasure that we are now looking forward to our new partnership with Honda. At the same time, I wish to thank Chevrolet for some truly unforgettable years.

“Together, we have won two STCC titles and claimed three WTCC race wins; Chevrolet played an instrumental role in establishing our team on the international arena. But it's time to look to the future and, as far as that is concerned, I'm glad to say that 2014 marks only the beginning of a very interesting journey…”

Taniguchi is the fourth driver to be confirmed to the TC2 class, along with John Filippi (Campos SEAT), Franz Engslter and Pasquale di Sabatino (Engstler BMW). As well as Filippi, Campos Racing is expected to enter two more Leons.

Tagged as: Honda , Taniguchi , NIKA

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Castrol Honda World Touring Car Team driver Takuya Izawa Sunday, September 22 2013. (Photo Copyright: Honda Europe / Naoki Kobayashi)
Alain Menu
Michel Vaillant - Alain Menu
John Filippi - Sebastien Loeb Racing
Ryo Michigami, Honda Racing Team JAS [Credit: WTCC]
Rob Huff - Munnich Motorsport Citroen C-Elysee
Medhi Bennani, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nestor Girolami, Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo, WTCC [Credit: WTCC]
Tom Chilton, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen [Credit: XPB]
Tom Coronel, Roal Chevrolet [Credit: WTCC media]
Gabriele Tarquini, Lada, Moscow [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: Florent Gooden / DPP]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.