WTCC Paul Ricard: Lopez celebrates last to first charge

Citroen's Jose Maria Lopez notches up his second win of the WTCC season despite starting down in 18th position.
Jose Maria Lopez has assured himself of a place in World Touring Car Championship history with a remarkable run to victory in the second race of the day at Paul Ricard from 18th on the grid.

The Argentinian came into the second round of the WTCC season with a slim advantage over Sebastien Loeb in the standings, but after qualifying second on the grid, technical irregularities would instead see him demoted to the back of the field for both races.

Recovering to fourth in a damp first race, Lopez would star in the drier second race, getting the jump on his Citroen team-mates Loeb and Yvan Muller to take charge before scything all the way up to first position and the win.

A remarkable achievement that is otherwise indicative of Citroen's advantage in WTCC at the moment, the former GP2 race winner was thrilled to hold onto his championship lead.

“Even when you start from pole position, winning is never easy. You can't imagine how thrilled I am to have won a race after starting from 18th on the grid! I made a cautious start, but I still managed to move up five or six places by the first corner.

“There were cars all over the place at the chicane and that's where I went past Yvan. That was the key to the race, as I would never have been able to get ahead in normal circumstances. I attacked to work my way up the field, but there were no low blows in the pack!

“Of course, the safety car helped me to make up ground on Tiago Monteiro, but sometimes you need a bit of luck to win.”

Tagged as: Citroën , Lopez

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing C-Elysee [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing C-Elysee [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Alain Menu
Michel Vaillant - Alain Menu
John Filippi - Sebastien Loeb Racing
Ryo Michigami, Honda Racing Team JAS [Credit: WTCC]
Rob Huff - Munnich Motorsport Citroen C-Elysee
Medhi Bennani, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nestor Girolami, Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo, WTCC [Credit: WTCC]
Tom Chilton, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen [Credit: XPB]
Tom Coronel, Roal Chevrolet [Credit: WTCC media]
Gabriele Tarquini, Lada, Moscow [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: Florent Gooden / DPP]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.