CLICK HERE to view full WTCC Qualifying results

Yvan Muller has inherited pole position for the fifth round of the 2014 World Touring Car Championship at the Salzburgring after original pole sitter Gianni Morbidelli was penalised for a yellow flag infringement.

Morbidelli - the only non-Citroen driver to win a WTCC race this season - had looked set to score his first pole position for the ALL-INKL Munnich Chevrolet team, but having been awarded the top spot initially, was later judged to have set his best time under yellow flag conditions.

Related Articles

As such, stewards would punish him with a five-place grid penalty to leave him in fifth position, promoting Muller up to the top spot to maintain Citroen's perfect qualifying record. It is the second time this season Muller has inherited a pole position after Sebastien Loeb was penalised at Paul Ricard.

Loeb joins his countryman on the front row now, with Tom Coronel splitting the Citroen trio in third place and Jose Maria Lopez in fourth.

Outside the top five, Tom Chilton will start sixth, ahead of leading Honda man Tiago Monteiro, the Portuguese man heading up fellow Civic drivers Mehdi Bennani, Nortbert Michelisz and Gabriele Tarquini, the quartet seemingly focusing on securing the leading positions in the reverse grid race two. As such, Tarquini will start on pole position for race two.

In the TC2 class, Franz Engstler will start ahead of John Filippi and Pasquale di Sabatino.