Argentina WTCC: Muller top ahead of Argentina qualifying

Yvan Muller goes quickest in second free practice at the Termas de Rio Hondo circuit, but just eight tenths cover top ten.
CLICK HERE to view full WTCC Argentina FP2 results

Qualifying for the eighth round of the 2014 World Touring Car Championship looks set to be the closest of the season after less than a second covered the top ten in FP2.

Yvan Muller was fastest of all in the Citroen, just a few hundredths up on title rival and championship leader Jose Maria Lopez in the sister C-Elysee, but with Chevrolet, Honda and even LADA all within a second of the pace setters, qualifying around the Termas de Rio Hondo could be the most closely-fought yet.

Behind Lopez, Tom Chilton was third best in the ROAL Chevrolet, ahead of Sebastien Loeb and the Castrol Honda duo of Gabriele Tarquini and Tiago Monteiro.

Hugo Valente was seventh best from Norbert Michelisz, while Rob Huff maintained LADA's stronger-than-usual start to the weekend in ninth place, the former champion just seven tenths off the ultimate pace around the Argentinian circuit.

In TC2, Franz Engstler continued to set the pace in his eponymous BMW, ahead of John Filippi and local newcomer Camilo Echevarria, the latter suffering with persistent technical issues.

Tagged as: Muller , Citro├źn

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing C-Elysee [credit: FIA WTCC]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing C-Elysee [credit: FIA WTCC]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing C-Elysee [credit: FIA WTCC]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing C-Elysee [credit: FIA WTCC]
Alain Menu
Michel Vaillant - Alain Menu
John Filippi - Sebastien Loeb Racing
Ryo Michigami, Honda Racing Team JAS [Credit: WTCC]
Rob Huff - Munnich Motorsport Citroen C-Elysee
Medhi Bennani, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nestor Girolami, Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo, WTCC [Credit: WTCC]
Tom Chilton, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen [Credit: XPB]
Tom Coronel, Roal Chevrolet [Credit: WTCC media]
Gabriele Tarquini, Lada, Moscow [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: Florent Gooden / DPP]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.