Argentina WTCC: Lopez on pole for home WTCC round

Jose Maria Lopez leads another Citroen 1-2-3 in qualifying at the Termas de Rio Hondo as he claims pole position on home soil.
CLICK HERE to view full WTCC Argentina Qualifying results

Jose Maria Lopez gave the home fans what they came to see by claiming pole position for the eighth round of the 2014 World Touring Car Championship at the Termas de Rio Hondo circuit in Argentina.

Leading a Citroen 1-2-3, current championship leader Lopez – who scored his first WTCC win at the venue in a one-off outing for Wiechers-Sport BMW -, topped both Q2 and Q3 to emerge a comfortable four tenths up on his team-mates.

Main title rival Yvan Muller will join Lopez on the front row in the sister Citroen, while Sebastien Loeb ensured the French firm staved off the growing threat from the increasingly competitive Hondas to qualify in third place.

Despite missing all of Friday's running due to an airport mishap, Norbert Michelisz was fastest of all in Q1 and would eventually land as the fastest Honda driver in fourth in his privately entered Zengo Civic, while the factory version of Tiago Monteiro headed up row three in fifth place.

Tom Chilton headed up the Chevrolet challenge in sixth place, ahead of Gabriele Tarquini and Mehdi Bennani in their respective Hondas, while LADA's challenge was again headed up by Rob Huff in tenth position.

Tagged as: Citroën , Lopez

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing
Sebastien Loeb - Citroen C-Elysee
Ma Qing Hua - Citroen Racing
WTCC, grid line-up, [Credit: XPB]
Sebastien Loeb - Citroen C-Elysee
Sebastien Loeb - Citroen C-Elysee
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Nico Rosberg - Mercedes
Nico Rosberg - Mercedes
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Yvan Muller (FRA), Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Rob Huff (GBR), LADA Sport, WTCC [Credit: XPB]
Tiago Monteiro (POR), Castrol Honda WTCC, WTCC [Credit: Honda]
Nick Catsburg (NED), Lada Sport, WTCC, [Credit: Lada Sport]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.