WTCC China: Citroen wraps up WTCC title in style

A 1-2-3-4 result during the first race in Shanghai is more than enough for Citroen to reel off the WTCC manufacturers' title with two events in hand.
After numerous titles on the World Rally stages over the last decade, Citroen can now call itself world champions on the track as well now after comfortably wrapping up the 2014 WTCC title in Shanghai at its first attempt.

Having made the switch to touring car competition in 2014 with the C-Elysee, Citroen has emerged as the dominant manufacturer having engineered a better grasp of the new TC1 regulations. Indeed, with two rounds of the season remaining, Citroen has won 15 of the 19 races in 2014 with its driving quartet of Jose Maria Lopez, Yvan Muller, Sebastien Loeb and Ma Qing Hua.

Fittingly, Citroen confirmed the manufacturers' crown in typically dominant style in China, its 1-2-3-4 result in the opening race around the Shanghai International Circuit also appropriately occurring in the firm's biggest overseas market.

It is a performance that leaves Citroen team principal Yves Matton thrilled with the efforts of all involved in the project.

“The season isn't quite over yet, but I think we can safely say it has been a great year. A year that began, in fact, eighteen months ago, when we started working on this project. Whether it was in the technical centre in Versailles or on the ground, the entire team spent a lot energy making sure we were ready for the start of the championship.

“With a well-deigned car and a set of fantastic drivers, we have obtained some truly exceptional results. I would especially like to thank Yvan Muller, for his involvement with us. It was very emotional to record a 1-2-3-4 in China, and to see Ma Qing Hua finish on the podium.”

Tagged as: Citroën

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Ma Qing Hua - Citroen Racing [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Nestor Girolami, Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo, WTCC [Credit: WTCC]
Tom Chilton, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen [Credit: XPB]
Tom Coronel, Roal Chevrolet [Credit: WTCC media]
Gabriele Tarquini, Lada, Moscow [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: Florent Gooden / DPP]
Jose Maria Lopez, Citroen, [Credit: WTCC media]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic
Tom Coronel - ROAL Chevrolet Cruze
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda Civic [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.