Jose Maria Lopez has further stamped his authority on the World Touring Car Championship by becoming the first man since 1983 to win an FIA world championship event at the Nordschleife.

Despite the challenges posed by the notorious 14 mile circuit, Lopez was relatively untroubled as he eased away from pole position, nosing into a lead he would ultimately hold over the three laps to the chequered flag.

With fellow front row starter Hugo Valente getting a poor getaway, which resulted in him getting swallowed down the order to the bottom end of the top ten, Sebastien Loeb assumed second position, followed closely by Yvan Muller, the Citroen trio remaining in formation to the chequered flag.

Related Articles

The best of the Honda contingent, Hungaroring winner Norber Michelisz crossed the line in fourth place, ahead of Ma Qing Hua, who snatched fifth from Castrol Honda's Gabriele Tarquini on the final lap of the race.

Mehdi Bennani completed Citroen's strong start to the day in seventh, ahead of Stefano D'Aste, Tom Chilton and wild-card Sabine Schmitz, the 'Queen of the Ring' able to use her track knowledge to negate her relative inexperience in the Chevrolet Cruze to hang on for tenth a point, becoming the first woman in WTCC to do so.