Click here to see full qualifying results from WTCC Race of Russia

Yvan Muller has put his Citroen Total C-Elysee on pole for the World Touring Car Championship Race of Russia, after edging out championship leader Jose Maria Lopez by just 0.046s.

The French driver grabbed provisional pole in Q3 with his 1m 37.923s lap but had an anxious wait as his Citroen team-mate was the last to set his timed lap. However, defending WTCC champion Lopez was unable to improve on Muller's time, handing the advantage to his team-mate for race one at Moscow Raceway.

Related Articles

Honda Racing's Gabriele Tarquini heads the second row of the grid and will be joined by LADA Sport's Rob Huff, who pulled off the shock of the day by putting the LADA Vesta TC1 into Q3 for the first time ever.

Tom Chilton completed the top five shootout in his ROAL Chevrolet Cruze which meant there were four different manufacturers in Q3, another first in WTCC since its regulations revamp.

Sebastien Loeb suffered a nightmare qualifying session after being knocked out in Q2. The Citroen driver will also miss out on the reverse grid procedure as he could only manage 11th on the timesheet.

Tiago Monteiro will start from pole position on the reversed grid, ahead of LADA Sport's Nicky Catsburg.

Fourth Citroen driver Ma Qing Hua narrowly missed out on the top five shootout and will start race one from sixth. Hugo Valente heads row four and will be joined by Hungary race winner Norbert Michelisz.