Gabriele Tarquini held off BMW-led advances to record SEAT's first World Touring Car Championship win of the season in the second race of the weekend at Zandvoort.

Making the most of his front row starting position,
Tarquini failed to bow to the challenges of Augusto Farfus Jr. and Jorg Muller to score his second ever victory in the Leon, although two strong results see Farfus take the lead of the championship.

From the standings start, it was pole sitter Andy Priaulx that got the jump from Tarquini, but on lap two the Italian tackled the double reigning champion for the lead, the duo coming together at Scheivlak.

The incident caused Priaulx to slip slightly down the order but it promoted Tarquini into first place and although he arguably failed to build upon that lead, he was unable to be passed on a circuit that has always proved difficult to overtake on.

As such, Farfus remained within touching distance of the Italian but could not find a way past, crossing the line less than half a second adrift, while Muller was an equal distance further behind having battled his way from tenth on the grid.

Nicola Larini completed a marvellous weekend for Chevrolet to rise from seventh to fourth, although any hopes Alain Menu could match his race winning exploits from the first race were spoiled when he crashed at the Audi Esses on lap three in an accident reminiscent of team-mate Rob Huff's off in the first race.

Priaulx was left in fifth, ahead of Luca Rangoni, the Italian recording his second points finish of the day on the way to two Independent Trophy wins, while Roberto Colciago followed his privateer counterpart in seventh to add another two points to his tally.

The battle for the final point fell to Felix Porteiro, the Spaniard battling hard to pass Alex Zanardi, Jordi Gene and Tiago Monteiro to record his first ever WTCC points.