Russia 2013: Michel Nykjaer takes race two win in Moscow

The 'Great Dane' holds off a late charging Muller to take his third win of the season
Michael Nykjaer held off a late challenge from championship leader Yvan Muller to take his third win of the season at the end of race two at Moscow, setting the WTCC lap record of 1:44.456s for the new 2.46-mile (3.955-km), 15-turn circuit in the process.

Initially it was Mehdi Bennani in his ProTeam BMW who had held an early lead of nearly two seconds over Nykjaer, with Gabriele Tarquini holding up the following pack. Bennani was eventually caught by Nykjaer who tried a few bites of the cherry before finally taking the lead on lap 7 of the 13-lap race.

Once in front, it was a position Nykjaer managed to keep to the finish. That gave him his third win of the season after earlier successes in Morocco and Austria, second only to Muller who had made it four wins in 2013 earlier in the day with success in race one.

Muller was busy monstering his way through the pack in his RML Chevrolet, somewhat helped by James Thompson and Tom Coronel taking each other off early on in the race through. Nykjaer was able to withstand the late pressure that Muller brought to bear and in the end the two Chevrolet Cruze cars crossed the line less than four tenths apart.

SEAT's Rob Huff came through unscathed from a battle with BMW's Mehdi Bennani to claim the final podium position in third, with Bennani dropping way back after spinning while attempting to keep Huff at bay. Tuenti Racing's Pepe Oriola, who at one point was early spun around by an exuberant Gabriele Tarquini, quietly kept his composure to take fourth by holding off Norbert Michelisz who claimed fifth and who was once again the top Honda as Tarquini fell to seventh behind Tom Chilton as Castrol JAS Honda struggled to keep up with the front-runners.

Finishing behind Tarquini, Stefano d'Aste picked his way through the field to pick up a good eighth as the top BMW. Daryll O'Young was undoubtedly having a better time of it than he had earlier in the day in race one by finishing in ninth place ahead of Bamboo Engineering's James Nash who followed in tenth but who loses his lead in the Yokohama Driver's Trophy Nykjaer after failing to pick up solid points this weekend.

And even more literally point-less Moscow outing awaited Alex MacDowall who finished just outside the points for a second time albeit with a slightly stronger 11th place showing in race two than he'd managed earlier. The Bamboo Engineering Chevrolet Cruze finished just ahead of Tiago Monteiro in twelfth and Marc Basseng who ended the day in 13th.

Tom Coronel suffered an early race spin but managed to get going again and came home in 14th place ahead of Franz Engstler and the unlucky Bennani, whose spin while battling Huff for a podium place ended up dropping him to 16th. Russian racer Nikolay Karamyshev, who was making his WTCC d├ębut this weekend, had a solid learning experience as he drove his way to 17th, even managing to beat his more experienced Campos Racing team mate Fernando Monje to the line.

Rene Munnich is yet to score points in 2013 and his luck didn't improve in Moscow after he retired two laps from the flag, although he still featured in the classified results. Charles Ng retired early in the race as a result of the major damage inflicted on his BWM in the race one accident, while Freddy Barth's Weichers BMW was withdrawn from the event prior to the start as a result of damage to both car and driver.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michel Nykjaer - NIKA Racing Chevrolet Cruze [Pic credit; FIA WTCC]
Michel Nykjaer - NIKA Racing Chevrolet Cruze [Pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Michel Vaillant - Alain Menu
John Filippi - Sebastien Loeb Racing
Ryo Michigami, Honda Racing Team JAS [Credit: WTCC]
Medhi Bennani, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nestor Girolami, Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo, WTCC [Credit: WTCC]
Tom Chilton, Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen [Credit: XPB]
Gabriele Tarquini, Lada, Moscow [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Nicky Catsburg, Lada, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: Florent Gooden / DPP]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [credit: FIA WTCC Media]
Mehdi Bennani - Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen
Mehdi Bennani - Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.