Tiago Monteiro ended a long win drought dating back to September 2010 with victory in the second World Touring Car Championship race of the weekend in Shanghai.

The Portuguese racer had started on pole thanks to the reverse grid regulations having been tenth quickest in qualifying, and he held onto the lead when the lights went on a race that - like race one earlier in the day - was shortened to ten laps.

Holding station ahead of team-mate Gabriele Tarquini, Monteiro took a maiden success in Honda colours as the factory team took a 1-2 finish, with Norbert Michelisz in the Zengo Motorsport-entered Civic rounding out the podium.

Related Articles

Michelisz had moved into third at the start but couldn't put pressure on the pair ahead as he was forced to defend hard to keep the SEAT of Rob Huff at bay, with Huff in turn then finding himself being pressured by Yvan Muller's Chevrolet.

Muller worked his way through the field and took fifth thanks to a fine move on James Nash on lap seven which saw the Frenchman go round the outside at turn one. Nash therefore had to settle for sixth although he once again took Independents' class honours.

Pepe Oriola and Tom Coronel followed behind in seventh and eighth, with Stefano D'Aste coming through the field well after his qualifying issues to take ninth. Race one winner Tom Chilton rounded out the top ten in his Chevrolet.

After the relatively quiet opening race, there was more action on track in race two, with BMW pair Darryl O'Young and Fredy Barth clashing at turn 14 while dicing for position, with the incident also delaying Alex MacDowall who lost ground to Nash in the Independents' title race as a result.

As in race one, Yukinori Taniguchi took Eurosport Asia Trophy honours in his Campos Racing-run SEAT Leon to strengthen his points lead.