CLICK HERE to view full WTCC Race 1 results

  • Yvan Muller maintains Citroen's perfect record so far this season with win number two
  • Jose Maria Lopez follows in a fairly processional race
  • Monteiro claims another podium for Honda in third position, ahead of Tarquini and Bennani

Yvan Muller has taken his second World Touring Car Championship victory of the season at the Hungaroring after doing what he needed at the start to secure a comfortable win.

Getting the break at the lights from pole position, Muller simply dived into a lead he would maintain to the chequered flag, the Frenchman being shadowed but never truly challenged by Citroen team-mate Jose Maria Lopez.

Maintaining Citroen's perfect start to the 2014 WTCC season, the firm's hopes of a 1-2-3 ended at the first corner when Sebastien Loeb out-braked himself into the first corner and slipped to seventh position.

From here, the rallying legend couldn't get around his rivals ahead on the twisty Hungarian circuit, forcing him to lose ground in the title fight.

Up at the front, Tiago Monteiro headed up a quartet of Hondas, with Gabriele Tarquini finishing in fourth, ahead of Mehdi Bennani and local hero Norbert Michelisz, the Hungarian doing a great job to finish sixth from 11th on the grid.

Tom Coronel, Gianni Morbidelli and Hugo Valente completed the top ten.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment