WTCC Hungary: Morbidelli breaks Citroen stronghold with win

Gianni Morbidelli holds on for a maiden WTCC victory for himself, in doing so becoming the first non-Citroen driver to win in 2014.
CLICK HERE to view full WTCC Race 2 results

  • Gianni Morbidelli becomes the first non-Citroen driver to win a WTCC race in 2014
  • The Italian claims his first career WTCC victory after withstanding pressure from Monteiro
  • >Hugo Valente completes the podium, ahead of Coronel and Muller

Gianni Morbidelli has taken his first career World Touring Car Championship win at the Hungaroring, in doing so becoming the first non-Citroen driver to win this season.

The Italian started on the reverse grid format front row and, after the getting the jump on pole sitter Hugo Valente into the first bend, proceeded to lead thereafter.

An impressive performance by the ALL-INKL Munnich driver, Morbidelli was forced to contend with intense pressure in the closing stages from Tiago Monteiro, but despite contact on the final lap, the tight and twisty nature of the Hungarian circuit would allow him to remain in front.

The result marks a first win for the new Chevrolet Cruze in a race that saw Citroen finish off the podium, with Honda's Monteiro and Campos Chevrolet's Valente completing the top three.

Tom Coronel finished fourth after resisting race-long attention from Yvan Miller, while sixth place for Jose Maria Lopez sees him retain his championship lead by ten points.

Tagged as: Morbidelli

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Gianni Morbidelli - ALL-INKL Chevrolet Cruze [credit: FIA WTCC]
Craft Bamboo Racing, WTCC [Credit: Craft Bamboo Racing]
Gregoire Demoustier - Craft-Bamboo Chevrolet Cruze
Lada Vesta TC1 WTCC [Credit: Lada Sport]
Tiago Monteiro - Castrol Honda Civic WTCC
Castrol Honda Civic WTCC
Dusan Borkovic [credit: FIA WTCC]
LADA reveals its new Vesta WTCC car
Mehdi Bennani - SLR Citroen C-Elysee
Rob Huff - LADA Sport [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Citroen Racing 1-2-3 [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Norbert Michelisz - Zengo Motorsport Honda [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Jose Maria Lopez - Citroen Racing [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Rob Huff - LADA Sport [pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Rob Huff - LADA Sport [pic credit: FIA WTCC]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.