Shanghai: Practice 2 times

Yvan Muller returned to the top of the timesheets in second practice at the Shanghai International Circuit, pushing out Thed Björk who edged Muller's team mate Tom Chilton for second spot.
Chevrolet's Yvan Muller was back in charge of proceedings in second practice at the 14-turn, 2.86-mile Shanghai International Circuit on Saturday ahead of qualifying for the 11th round of the 2013 World Touring Car Championship.

However it was Thed Björk who had led the way for much of the session in the Volvo C30, despite the car not bring eligible to receive points in this weekend's competition. Björk succeeded in holding on to second spot in the timings by the time the chequered flag brought the proceedings to a halt, resisting the efforts of Muller's RML Chevrolet team mate Tom Chilton to oust him.

Once again, Mehdi Bennani's car was unable to set any lap times. He's been plagued by technical problems ever since arriving in China and he has yet to enjoy a problem-free session in Shanghai after issues on Friday with the BMW's supercharging and on Saturday with a broken driveshaft.

Practice 2 times

1. #12 Yvan Muller RML Chevrolet Cruze 1:55.508s (11 laps)
2. #40 Thed Björk Volvo Polestar Racing Volvo C30 DRIVe 1:55.848s + 0.340s (11 laps) T
3. #23 Tom Chilton RML Chevrolet Cruze 1:55.910s + 0.402s (11 laps)
4. #10 James Thompson LADA Sport Lukoil Lada Granta 1:56.069s + 0.561s (11 laps)
5. #9 Alex MacDowall bamboo engineering Chevrolet Cruze 1:56.109s + 0.601s (9 laps) I
6. #14 James Nash bamboo engineering Chevrolet Cruze 1:56.196s + 0.688s (9 laps) I
7. #74 Pepe Oriola Tuenti Racing Team Chevrolet Cruze 1:56.204s + 0.696s (11 laps)
8. #18 Tiago Monteiro Castrol Honda WTC Team Honda Civic WTCC 1:56.261s + 0.753s (11 laps)
9. #1 Rob Huff Münnich Motorsport SEAT Leon WTCC 1:56.341s + 0.833s (11 laps)
10. #3 Gabriele Tarquini Castrol Honda WTC Team Honda Civic WTCC 1:56.455s + 0.947s (11 laps)
11. #26 Stefano D'Aste PB Racing BMW 320 TC 1:56.479s + 0.971s (14 laps) I
12. #15 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport BMW 320 TC 1:56.527s + 1.019s (13 laps)
13. #6 Franz Engstler Liqui Moly Team Engstler BMW 320 TC 1:56.574s + 1.066s (13 laps) I

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Yvan Muller - RML Chevrolet Cruze [Pic credit: FIA WTCC]
Tom Chilton, Seb Loeb Racing, WTCC [Credit: WTCC]
Rob Huff - Castrol Honda
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing [credit: DPPI]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing [credit: DPPI]
Volvo will enter the 2016 WTCC under the Volvo Cyan Polestar Racing banner
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Yvan Muller (FRA), Citroen, WTCC [Credit: WTCC media]
Tiago Monteiro (POR), Castrol Honda WTCC, WTCC [Credit: Honda]
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing
Tiago Monteiro (POR), Castrol Honda WTCC, WTCC [Credit: Honda]
Norbert Michelisz (HUN), Zengo Motorsport, WTCC [Credit: Honda WTCC]
Norbert Michelisz - Zengo Honda
Norbert Michelisz - Zengo Honda
Yvan Muller - Citroen Racing

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.