New Zealand secured their second pole position of the season for the fifth round of the A1 Grand Prix Championship at Sentul, Jonny Reid putting in a stunning last gasp lap to deny both Great Britain and Germany the top spot.

Indeed, Reid somewhat belied a rather conservative effort in practice for the Indonesia round of the championship to nonetheless ensure New Zealand featured inside the top five of each qualifying segment before then going on to set the fastest lap of the day on his final effort, which in turn was enough to put him on pole on aggregate too.

Before that it had looked as though Germany would be heading for pole position, with Niko Hulkenberg continuing to prove his status as a formidable single lap qualifier by flying in particularly the first and third qualifying segments.

However, a 'slight mistake' in the direction of set-up saw him drop eventually to third on the grid, just behind Great Britain, with Robbie Kerr just a mere 0.034secs off repeating his pole position from last season.

Nonetheless, it remains the team's best starting position of the year, with Kerr having proved quickest in the second segment and then producing a strong lap in the final session to guarantee a front row starting slot.

Fourth on the grid will be Mexico after Salvador Duran seemingly proved his 'off' weekend in Malaysia would not be repeated here, while rounding out the top five was session three pace setter Philip Giebler for the USA, the American improving throughout the weekend to take his best qualifying position of the season.

Another team that will also start higher than they have become accustomed to is Australia, who, despite having taken two podiums this year, had yet to qualify above 13th thus far. Nonetheless, a consistent run by Ryan Briscoe means they will start sixth, just ahead of France, who failed to extend their practice pace into qualifying.

Alan van der Merwe marked his debut in A1GP with an impressive drive to eighth on the grid for South Africa, the former British Formula Three Champion managing to out pace last season's Sentul winner Sean McIntosh in his Canada entry, as well as tenth place Beijing victor Jeroen Bleekemolen for the Netherlands.

As for the remaining newcomers, Ho-Pin Tung was 12th fastest for China after a sterling performance in what is his first run in the car, while Czech Jaroslav Janis will start just behind in 14th.

Elsewhere, India will start an encouraging 16th, just ahead of home favourites Indonesia, while Richard Lyons will make his debut for Ireland from 18th after crashing in the second session and forcing a red flag.



Loading Comments...