Neel Jani continued his love affair with the Sepang circuit to storm to pole position for the third sprint race of the A1GP season.

Jani, who took a double pole and double win for Team Switzerland in Malaysia last season, produced a stunning lap of 1min 47.154secs to take pole position by six-tenths of a second - with his performance made all the more remarkable considering he didn't utilise his Powerboost 'joker' during the session.

Most of the quick times came during the second segment of qualifying after the first segment was red-flagged when Jin Woo Hwang stopped on track.

It meant drivers were faced with a congested circuit and only a matter of minutes to post a time with a number of teams unable to complete their out laps from the pits and make it round to start a flying lap before the chequered flag was brought out.

Jani ultimately ended up ahead of Frenchman Loic Duval while Earl Bamber, on his return to the New Zealand outfit, was the only other person to dip below the 1min 48sec marker.

Chengdu winner Filipe Albuequerque was fourth ahead of impressive Italian Edoardo Piscopo, with Briton Danny Watts rounding out the top six.

Ireland, Mexico, the Netherlands and India completed the top ten, with points leaders Malaysia down in 13th.

For full results, CLICK HERE



Loading Comments...