After a brief few days of debate as to whether the penultimate round of the A1 Grand Prix championship at Laguna Seca would even take place, the driver nominations have finally confirmed that it is going ahead as planned.

The list represents no great surprises but a few moves have taken place since the previous round in Mexico, with Japan not featured on the list but Pakistan rejoining.

Having almost destroyed his car in a high speed smash for the second time this year, Hayanari Shimoda has not been entered for this race, with Japan's place has been taken by Pakistan, who have defied cynics who believed that they would not reappear following a hand injury to Adam Khan in South Africa.

Perhaps the most important driver change though occurs at Switzerland, with Giorgio Mondini taking the place of Neel Jani, who is making his Formula One debut in Bahrain for Scuderia Toro Rosso. His inclusion comes as Switzerland attempt to keep alive their faint hopes of snatching the title of France.

As they have done all year, France have alternated back to Nicolas Lapierre on what is expected to be the weekend where they are finally crowned champions, having swept all before them in most races this year.

Elsewhere, Australia field a new line-up with British Formula Three driver Karl Reindler taking the place of Marcus Marshall, while IRL star Ryan Briscoe has been named as their number two driver in place of Christian Jones.

Mathias Lauda has returned from his DTM testing duties to replace Patrick Friesacher again, while Max Papis looks to have gotten his wish to drive for Team Italy at one of his favourite circuits. Team Lebanon have also named Basil Shaaban as their number one driver ahead of impressive Mexico newcomer Graham Rahal, although this could be subject to change.

The full confirmed entry list is as follows:

Australia Karl Reindler Ryan BriscoeAustria Mathias LaudaBrazil Christian Fittipaldi Tuka RochaCanada Patrick Carpentier Sean McIntoshChina Tengyi Jiang Ma QinghuaCzech Republic Tomas EngeFrance Nicolas Lapierre Alexandre PrematGermany Timo ScheiderGreat Britain Robbie KerrIndonesia Ananda MikolaIreland Ralph Firman Michael DevaneyItaly Max Papis Max BusnelliLebanon Basil Shaaban Graham RahalMalaysia Alex YoongMexico Salvador DuranNetherlands Jos Verstappen Jeroen BleekemolenNew Zealand Matt HallidayPakistan Adam KhanPortugal Alvaro Parente Cesar CampanicoSouth Africa Stephen SimpsonSwitzerland Giorgio MondiniUSA Bryan Herta Philip Giebler



Loading Comments...