A total of 23 teams and 42 drivers have been announced for the opening round of the A1 Grand Prix season at Zandvoort, two less than lined up on the grid for last year's inaugural curtain raiser at Brands Hatch.

Indeed, the grid will be one less than expected after Turkey was missing from the list, even if newcomers Greece and Singapore have both unveiled a comprehensive three driver team for their debut in the series, going some way to replacing Russia, Austria, Portugal and Japan, who all competed at Brands Hatch last season but have chosen not to enter this year.

With a number of expected drivers still indisposed due to commitments in other series', the nominated driver list is certainly a mixture of youth and experience, even if there is a clear leaning towards those with less miles under their belt.

Reigning champions France lead the way with Nicolas Lapierre, with Loic Duval providing backing support while Alex Premat makes his F1 weekend debut in China for Spyker, while Great Britain will travel to Holland armed with Darren Manning and Oliver Jarvis after Robbie Kerr was forced to miss Zandvoort in favour of the World Series by Renault.

Returnees include Alex Yoong for Malaysia, Matt Halliday for New Zealand and Ananda Mikola for Indonesia, although with the likes of Niko Hulkenberg, Sebastien Buemi and Adrian Zaugg out to impress for Germany, Switzerland and South Africa respectively, new talent is arguably the theme for the first round.

Shown in italics on the list below, teams have been able to nominate who takes part in the rookie practice sessions before qualifying, an incentive that includes drivers under 25 years of age and has competed in no more than three races in total.

A1 Grand Prix nominated drivers for the first round of the 2006/2007 season opener at Zandvoort, Holland

AustraliaKarl Reindler, Ian Dyk, Ryan BriscoeBrazilTuka Rocha, Ruben CarrapatsoCanadaJames HinchcliffeChinaTeng Zi Jiang, Congfu ChengCzech RepublicThomas Kostka, Jan CharouzFranceLoic Duval, Nicolas LapierreGermanyNiko HulkenbergGreat BritainOliver Jarvis, Darren ManningGreeceTakis Kaitazis, Vasilis Papafilippoy, Stelios NousiasIndiaArmaan EbrahimIndonesiaAnanda Mikola, Moreno SoepraptoIrelandMichael Devaney, John O'HaraItalyMichele Rugolo, Pier Guidi AlessandroLebanonAlex Khateeb, Basil Shaaban, Khalil BeschirMalaysiaAlex YoongMexicoSergio Perez, Salvador DuranNetherlandsJeroen BleekemolenNew ZealandMatt HallidayPakistanNur AliSingaporeHafiz Koh, Christian Murchison, Denis LianSouth AfricaAdrian Zaugg, Stephen SimpsonSwitzerlandSebastien BuemiUSAPhilip Giebler, Jonathan Summerton



Loading Comments...