American Le Mans Series GTS champion Ron Fellows was honoured as a 'First Team' member of the 2004 Auto Racing All-America Team at an awards banquet in Pomona at the weekend.

The popular Canadian was selected to the team for the second year in a row by members of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association (AARWBA). Frank Biela and Marco Werner, co-champions of the LMP 900 class in the ALMS, were also recognised by the membership, but neither was able to attend the banquet. Biela was named to the 'Second Team' and Werner earned 'Honourable Mention' in the road racing category.

Fellows won his second consecutive GTS class title in 2003, driving for the factory Chevrolet Corvette team. He and co-champion Johnny O'Connell scored three wins in the nine-race ALMS season, including their second straight win in the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring. Fellows also drove the final two races of the season with a painfully dislocated shoulder, which he injured in an accident while rock climbing.

In addition to his ALMS schedule, Fellows also drove for Dale Earnhardt, Inc in the two road racing events on the NASCAR Winston Cup schedule. Though mechanical problems eliminated him from the event at Watkins Glen, he had a strong run in the event at Infineon Raceway. He passed eventual winner Robby Gordon and comfortably led the race until being caught out by an ill-timed yellow flag period. Restarting in 25th place with only a short amount of time left in the race, he managed to work his way back to finish seventh.

Joining Fellows on the First Team was Scott Pruett, the 2003 champion of the MotorRock Trans-Am Tour, NASCAR stars Ryan Newman and Matt Kenseth, Gil de Ferran and Scott Dixon from the IRL, CART's Paul Tracy, drag racers Larry Dixon and Tony Pedregon, short track stars JJ Yeley and Steve Kinser, and Brian Vickers and Frank Kimmel from the 'Touring Series' category. AJ Allmendinger and Mark Taylor were picked from the 'At Large' section.



Loading Comments...