American Le Mans Series fans now have less than a week to cast votes for the 2004 "From the Fans" Award.

Voting will end when the chequered flag falls on the season-ending Audi Sports Car Championships event which will be run this Saturday at Laguna Seca.

The "From the Fans" award is presented each year to a person or group who is felt by fans of the series to have made the greatest contribution to sports car racing over the past year.

There is so far no clear-cut favourite among the five finalists who were announced at the end of September, and voting is likely to remain close until it ends the day before the winner is named at the ALMS awards banquet.

The 2004 finalists for the American Le Mans Series "From the Fans" award are as follows:

Rob Dyson:
The owner of the Dyson Racing Team, Dyson has spearheaded the competitive development of the Lola B01/60-AER that has provided a constant threat to Audi in the LMP1 class of the ALMS. Dyson received the "From the Fans" award in 2003.

Doug Fehan:
As Corvette program manager for GM Racing, Fehan has directed the highly-successful factory Corvette team in the ALMS since its founding in 1999. The Fehan-led organization has won the driver, team and manufacturer titles in the GTS class of the ALMS for 2004.

Flying Lizard Motorsports:
A new team in the ALMS for 2004, Flying Lizard quickly made its mark by challenging the Alex Job Racing team that had dominated the ALMS for the past several seasons. A Flying Lizard Porsche won at Mid-Ohio in only the team's second ALMS race and drivers Darren Law and Johannes van Overbeek are still contenders for the GT class driving title.

Alex Job:
The owner of Alex Job Racing, Job has fielded a pair of Porsche 911 GT3 RSR machines in the GT class of the ALMS since the formation of the series and has had a car in all but one ALMS race ever. In 2004, Job's team has won the GT class in six of the eight ALMS races, as well as the team title.

Dave Maraj:
The owner of the ADT Champion Racing Audi R8 team, Maraj has built a first-class private racing organization that has represented America strongly in the 24 Hours of Le Mans as well as in the ALMS. The team helped Audi win its fifth straight ALMS Manufacturer's title in 2004 and Champion drivers JJ Lehto and Marco Werner also won the driving title while Champion won the team championship.

Fans can vote for the winner at



Loading Comments...