Four of the American Le Mans Series' best crews received post-season recognition from the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association for their achievements on track in 2008.

Motorsports journalists from around the United States selected Patr?n Highcroft Racing's David Brabham and Scott Sharp, along with J?rg Bergmeister and Wolf Henzler from Flying Lizard Motorsports, as AARWBA first-team All-American Auto Racing Team members, while Audi Sport North America's Lucas Luhr and Marco Werner, and Penske Racing's Timo Bernhard and Romain Dumas were second-team honourees in the road racing category.

Brabham and Sharp also represented the road racing category, while Bergmeister and Henzler was named in the 'at large' category. Corvette Racing's Jan Magnussen and Johnny O'Connell received honourable mentions.

Capping a season that brought a GT2 championship, Bergmeister and Henzler walked away from the American Le Mans Series with four class victories in eleven starts, with success coming at Sebring, Salt Lake City, Lime Rock and Detroit in their Porsche 911 GT3 RSR. Bergmeister was also a first-team selection in 2005, his first season as an American Le Mans Series champion.

Brabham and Sharp told a similar story in their Acura ARX-01b in the LMP2 class. Acura's leading driver pairing also won four times in eleven starts, including an overall victory at Lime Rock Park, and claimed P2 victories at Long Beach, Road America and Mosport before finishing as eventual runners-up in the class.

Like Henzler, it is the first time Brabham has earned a first team nomination, although he has second team and honourable mentions from, while Sharp becomes a first team member for the third time, having been selected in the Road Racing category in 1991 and 1994, during his time in the IndyCar Series.



Loading Comments...