Dyson Racing has revealed the driver line-up for its assault on the 2009 American Le Mans Series.

The team will debut two new cars when the season kicks off at Sebring having elected to end its relationship with Porsche over the winter, with the RS Spyders campaigned in recent years being replaced by a pair of Lola B09/86 Coupes powered by Mazda engines.

While the cars will be different however, there will be continuity on the driver front after the team revealed it will retain the same line-up as in 2008.

As a result, Chris Dyson and Guy Smith will team together in the #16 BP Dyson Mazda entry, while Butch Leitzinger and Marino Franchitti will be partners in the #20 car.

"We had very good driver chemistry last year and that is such an important component in developing a new car," Dyson said. "Butch has been with us for fourteen years, Guy four years and Marino fit in last year as if he had been with for us a long time."

Series veteran Ben Devlin - who drove the Lola Mazda package last season with BK Motorsports - will also add his experience to the line-up during the course of the season and said he was pleased to be involved.

"Dyson Racing has always been a team that stands out: not just in sports cars, but across the board," he said. "It is one of the best put-together teams in North America. It was a team I looked up to in 2001 when I first joined the ALMS and I am pleased to be part of their historical operation.

"I was at last week's Sebring test and it was great to see how far the car has come from last years' iteration. With the Mazda partnership and the team's commitment, it certainly should be a strong year for us."



Loading Comments...