Peugeot has swept to the top of the timesheets during the first official day of testing for the 2009 Sebring 12-Hour, with Stephane Sarrazin setting the quickest time.

With Peugeot and arch-rivals Audi sharing the honours during testing earlier in the week, it was the French manufacturer that moved ahead at the start of official duties with the driver combination of Sarrazin, Franck Montagny and Sebastien Bourdais.

With the No.7 car bouncing back after a crash during free testing earlier in the week, Peugeot's attention today was instead placed on the Nicolas Minassian - Pedro Lamy - Christian Klien machine, which didn't complete any laps after a problem was discovered with the 908 HDi chassis.

Nonetheless, after going quickest in the morning session, Sarrazin's afternoon lap of 1min 44.719secs was comfortably enough to keep Audi's new R15 TDI, piloted by Tom Kristensen, Dindo Capello and Allan McNish, at bay by two tenths of a second.

Audi held the third quickest time too, with Mike Rockenfeller, Lucas Luhr and Marco Werner, but found themselves almost a second behind their team-mates. Even so, they were faster than the leading Acura entrant, that of Highcroft Patron, who were just under two seconds off the leading pace, in the hands of David Brabham.

In the LMP2 category, Dyson Racing continued to impress with the new Mazda-powered Lola, the lead car of Chris Dyson, Guy Smith and Andy Lally, going three tenths of a second quicker than the Lowe's Fernandez Acura.

Jan Magnussen, Johnny O'Connell and Antonio Garcia led the way in GT1, ahead of their sole Corvette team-mate competitors, while the bumper GT2 field was fronted by the Farnbacher Porsche of Dick Werner.



Loading Comments...