There was drama on and off track at Snetterton after Hector Lester and Allan Simonsen claiming a brilliant tactical victory in the tenth round of the Avon Tyres British GT Championship, only to lose the win post-race after falling foul of technical rules.

The Lester/Simonsen Rosso Verde Ferrari 430 led from pole position to chequered flag, Simonsen laying the groundwork for the win by bolting into the lead at the start and building an advantage during his stint at the wheel of around 27 seconds, enough of a lead to give Lester every hope of hanging on in front during his time at the wheel.

The Invitation Class Barwell Ginetta G50Z of Olly Bryant and Piers Johnson was their most likely rival for victory, and Johnson tried his hardest in the latter stages to close the gap to the Ferrari. At the flag Lester's advantage was however still 3.9s.

Alas for Lester, he was found in post-race scrutineering not to be wearing the required safety clothing, something for which he had been warned earlier in the meeting. Stewards took the option to exclude the Rosso Verde Ferrari from the results, which Lester is appealing. Thus the on-road victor is the Barwell Ginetta, with championship leaders Godfrey and David Jones taking second overall and maximum points in the GT3 class.

Godfrey started the race in the Preci-Spark Ascari and played a conservative game to save the car's tyres before handing over relatively early to brother David.

"It was bloody hard work," said David, who battled through from sixth in the closing stages. "I think we had the right strategy; ours was the fastest car out there for most of the race, we just needed a few more laps really."

The Jones brothers arrived at Snetterton with a one-point championship lead and leave with seven points in hand over third-placed Dan Brown.

Brown celebrated his 18th birthday with another podium finish, claiming second in GT3 in the Momo Mosler, co-driven by Rollcentre boss Martin Short. Mike Wilds and Duncan Cameron were next up in the MTECH Ferrari.

Jody Firth celebrated his seventh GT4 class win of the season, co-driven in the Team WFR Ginetta by Nigel Moore. The Stark Racing Ginetta of Ian Stinton and Hunter Abbott claimed second in class once again.



Loading Comments...