The 2010 British Supersport Championship will be sponsored for the third consecutive season by motorcycle and motorsport lubricants provider, Fuchs-Silkolene.

"We are delighted that Fuchs-Silkolene has renewed their title sponsorship of the British Supersport Championship," stated BSB Series director Stuart Higgs. "The series is second only to BSB in terms of stature and this is reflected in the depth of talent and manufacturers in the field and anybody that watched any of the 2009 races could not fail to be completely absorbed in the intense track battles."

HM Plant Honda's Steve Plater secured the 2009 title following an epic season-long battle which went down to the wire with Raceways Yamaha's Billy McConnell. The championship produced six different race winners from four different manufacturers, with Kawasaki taking their first victory in the class since Pere Riba in 2005.

Entries for the 2010 season will be open shortly; however MAP Centurion Triumph has already confirmed Dan Cooper alongside South African AJ Venter.

Ben Wilson retains his ride with Gearlink Kawasaki following his fourth in the championship and TAG Triumph will retain the experienced Paul Young and class rookie Shaun Winfield.

The Fuchs-Silkolene British Supersport Cup class runs alongside the main championship and in 2009 was won by Sam Lowes, who scored seven victories on his way to the title.

The 2010 Supersport Cup will see a mix of riders graduating from the National Superstock 600 class and those looking to gain experience in the premier 600cc class.

The 2010 Cup will also be decided over nine rounds, rather than 12, allowing riders to discount their worst three scores.

All rounds of the Fuchs-Silkolene British Supersport Championship will be broadcast live on British Eurosport.

The opening race of the 2010 season takes place at Brands Hatch on April 3-5.



Loading Comments...