John Reynolds held off Steve Hislop to repeat his race one victory at a sunny Snetterton, by just 0.112secs.

Pole sitter Reynolds was beaten off the line by fellow Ducati rider Hislop into turn one, but the Monster Mob rider ran wide allowing Sean Emmett into the lead - briefly - before Hislop cut back inside the Reve Red Bull rider.

The first three (Reynolds was in third) soon began pulling a lead on the rest of the field, with Reynolds eager to pass his teammate and pressure Hislop.

The move came on lap 3 and Reynolds immediately set about trying to catch Hislop's #7 machine, which by now was the fastest on the track. Reynolds caught the Scotsman within a couple of laps, and took the lead on lap 11 of 22 when he made an easy looking pass down the inside of Hislop.

However, the Nottingham based rider was unable to shake Hislop off, and was forced into a mistake when he ran wide at a fast right-hander, allowing Hislop to retake the lead.

Amazingly, Hislop made exactly the same mistake at exactly the same place on the track one lap later, but was able to hold on to the lead of the race. However, the mistake had allowed Reynolds to close up and he duly slipstreamed past the red Ducati at the end of the back straight.

The leading duo remained inseparable with Hislop challenging Reynolds at every opportunity - but each time Reynolds held his nerve - and his lead.

Into the last lap and Reynolds began to catch two backmarkers, who were embroiled in a race of their own. Fortunately for Reynolds he moved inside to pass them at the chicane, and in doing so appeared to block Hislop's last chance to pass.

As they took the chequered flag, Hislop punched his petrol tank in frustration at having been so close yet again.

Results: BSB race two - Snetterton.

1.John ReynoldsReve Red BullDucati24mins 38.409secs
2.Steve HislopMonster MobDucati+0.112secs
3.James HaydonVirgin Mobile AiwaYamaha+8.720secs
4. Sean EmmettReve Red BullDucati+8.850secs
5.Paul BrownDiEnza Ducati+19.930secs
6.Shane ByrnePerformance HouseSuzuki+28.049secs*
7.John CrawfordCrescentSuzuki+28.079secs
8. Jamie RobinsonVirgin Mobile AiwaYamaha+39.437secs
9.Paul JonesPR Racing LiverpoolHonda+42.235secs*
10.Lee JacksonmacsportYamaha+42.937secs*
11.Dave WoodMyco MotorsportKawasaki+53.104secs*
12.Mark BurrHawk RacingKawasaki+56.747secs*
13.Nigel Nottinghamwww.mandvc.comYamaha+1min 03.703secs*
14.Gordon BlackleyHawk RacingKawasaki+1 lap*
15.Steve MarksClifford James FootwearYamaha+1 lap*
16.Peter BerwickTeam DBK RacingHonda+1 lap*

Not Classified;

Michael RutterTeam KawasakiKawasaki19 laps
Dean EllisonD&B RacingHonda5 laps*

Fastest lap:

John ReynoldsReve Red BullDucati1min 06.287secs
Shane ByrnePerformance HouseSuzuki1min 07.719secs*

* Production class



Loading Comments...