John Reynolds was delighted and relieved to win the second of two furiously competitive slip-streaming battles in the sixth round of the British Superbike Championship at Thruxton.

The Red Bull Ducati rider needed the victory to keep in close contention with his title rival Steve Hislop, the winner of the opening race.

Reynolds had featured strongly in that first 20-lapper at the ultra-fast Hampshire circuit during which six different riders held the lead but the decisive action came as the leading pack charged through the tight, double cornered chicane.

The order was radically reshuffled, with Hislop, who had been lying third on the opening lap, emerging as the race leader, and taking his sixth victory by 0.153seconds from the Kawasaki of Steve Plater, the Lincolnshire rider who had earlier denied him a third consecutive pole start by a split second.

Reynolds had to be content with fourth place, just adrift of his team-mate Sean Emmett, and the Nottingham rider, who last won the crown in 1992, was hot on the charge, moving ahead of early leader Hislop on the third lap, but then coming under intense pressure from the Virgin Mobile Aiwa Yamaha of James Haydon.

The Berkhamsted rider grabbed the initiative from Reynolds with four laps to go, then Emmett took the lead on the penultimate lap, but Reynolds saved the best till last, with a late braking move, that gave him the victory by a little under a quarter of a second from Haydon.

"It's great to win again, but I don't think I ever spent so much time out of control on a bike before," smiled Reynolds who, with Hislop slipping back to sixth place, after he and Emmett touched in the chicane, now trails the Scot 253-243 as they head for the seventh round at Oulton Park.

Shayne Byrne continued his domination of the British Superbike Privateers Championship, leading the Privateer challenge home in both races.

Karl Harris took his first victory of the season in the British Supersport class just ahead of Matt Llewellyn. John Crockford toppled Paul Young's five-race winning-streak to take victory in the Superstock race, while Ben Wilson took his fourth win in the Junior British Superstock class.

Stuart Easton won the British 250cc Championship race with Chaz Davies, the youngest competitor in the championship at 14-years old winning the 125cc race.

Championship standings after round six

1. Steve HISLOP 253
2. John REYNOLDS 243
3. James HAYDON 152
4. Michael RUTTER 121
5. John CRAWFORD 115
6. Shane BYRNE 115
7. Sean EMMETT 115
8. Paul BROWN 106
9. Lee JACKSON 65
10. Jamie ROBINSON 62
11. Steve PLATER 60
12. Nigel NOTTINGHAM 40
13. Dave WOOD 37
14. Gordon BLACKLEY 35
15. Paul JONES 33
16. Jason DAVIS 32
17. Dean ELLISON 25
18. Mark BURR 23
19. Steve MARKS 14
20. Francis WILLIAMSON 13
21. Jamie MORLEY 9
22. Dave REDGATE 7
23. Peter BERWICK 3
24. Paul A JONES 2.



Loading Comments...