Sean Emmett powered to his first ever winning double in the Motor Cycle News British Superbike Championship at Snetterton yesterday [Monday] afternoon and in the process cut the advantage of series leader Steve Hislop by half, to 17 points.

Emmett proved to be the dominant force throughout the action packed weekend as he rode his IFC Ducati to his first Superpole and then over came the early challenge of Michael Rutter, taking the lead on the fifth lap after a re-start.

More drama followed as the Weybridge-based rider was pursued by reigning Champion John Reynolds aboard his Rizla Suzuki GSX R-1000. Followed closely by Michael Rutter and his Renegade Ducati team-mate Shane Byrne. Both Renegade riders entered a battle for third place, but Byrne came too close to his team-mate as they powered through the Esses and both riders went tumbling out of the race. The safety car was deployed for two laps.

Emmett rode superbly and comfortably took the victory, 1.414 seconds ahead of Reynolds with Steve Plater bringing his Virgin Mobile Aiwa Yamaha home in third place ahead of the MonsterMob Ducati of a disappointed Steve Hislop.

At the start of the second race Hislop was determined to set the record straight and set a furious pace but it was all in vain as the red-flags came out yet again allowing officials to mop up an oil spillage. On the re-start, Emmett grabbed the initiative and lead through to the end with Hislop chasing while holding second as a battle weary Rutter grabbed third place from Plater on the last lap.

There was no joy for Reynolds in race two as the Rizla Suzuki rider crashed out of third place at half distance at Russells.

The next round of the MCN British Superbike Championship takes place at Brands Hatch on June 16, 2002.

Riders Points After Round 10:

Steve Hislop 189, Sean Emmett 172, Michael Rutter 130.5, Steve Plater 117, John Reynolds 105.5, Paul Brown 104.5, Shane Byrne 99.5, Simon Crafar 71, Dean Ellison 51.5, Glen Richards 50.5, Dean Thomas 42, Karl Harris 36, Paul Jones 27, Shane Norval 22, Gary Mason 18.5, Giovanni Bussei 14, Jamie Robinson 13, Mark Burr 10, Adrian Coates 10, David Jefferies 8, Lee Jackson 8, Jamie Morley 6, Phil Giles 6, Marty Nutt 5, Jason Davis 4.5, Neil Faulkner 3, Ross McCulloch 3, Paul Young 2, Gordon Blackley 1.



Loading Comments...