Just six positions on the 2016 MCE British Superbike Championship remain up for grabs as the series confirmed a 28-strong provisional entry list months before the season is due to get underway.

With mammoth grid sizes proving a true testament to the strength of the national series in 2015, BSB looks set for another bumper year in 2016 with 28 riders already confirmed across 15 teams and six manufacturers.

As it stands, series organisers MSV are expecting four or five more teams to confirm riders for 2016, with an entry for Gearlink Kawasaki and RAF Reserves BMW, while Buildbase BMW - having already announced Lee Jackson - is set to enter two more S1000RRs, one of which is likely to be for Richard Cooper. A fifth and six entry has been allocated, but isn't confirmed to any team as yet.

Though defending champions Josh Brookes and Milwaukee Yamaha have exited the series in favour of a move to the World Superbike Championship, a number of changes over the winter is destined to keep interest high, with PBM swapping to Ducati for Shane Byrne and Glenn Irwin, while JG Speedfit becomes Kawasaki's factory focus with a three-man effort of James Ellison, Peter Hickman and returnee Leon Haslam.

Other highlights include Tommy Hill's ePayMe team leading the Yamaha assault with a pair of R1s for Stuart Easton and John Hopkins, while three-time champion Ryuichi Kiyonari jumps on Suzuki machinery alongside Tommy Bridewell at Bennetts Halsall.

Heading in the other direction, Christian Iddon joins Michael Laverty at Tyco BMW, while Honda fields an unchanged three rider line-up of Dan Linfoot, Jason O'Halloran and Jenny Tinmouth.

Provisional 2016 MCE British Superbike Championship grid

Be Wiser PBM Ducati
Shane Byrne
Glenn Irwin

JG Speedfit Kawasaki
James Ellison
Peter Hickman
Leon Haslam

Tyco BMW
Michael Laverty
Christian Iddon

Buildbase BMW
Lee Jackson

ePayMe THM Yamaha
John Hopkins
Stuart Easton

Bennetts Suzuki
Ryuichi Kiyonari
Tommy Bridewell

Honda Racing
Dan Linfoot
Jason O'Halloran
Jenny Tinmouth

Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha
Billy McConnell
James Rispoli
Shaun Winfield

Lloyds British Moto Rapido Ducati
Danny Buchan

Team WD-40 Kawasaki
Jack Kennedy
Sam Hornsey

Quattro Plant Kawasaki
Luke Mossey
Filip Backlund

Smiths Racing BMW
Jakub Smrz
Howie Mainwaring

Ridersmotorcycles BMW
Martin Jessopp

Lloyd & Jones/PR Racing (Bike TBA)
Robbin Harms

FS-3 Kawasaki
James East

RAF Reserves BMW

Gearlink Kawasaki

Two more entries allocated but yet to be announced