The MCE British Superbike rookie quartet of Glenn Irwin, James Rispoli, Sam Hornsey and Matej Smrz will battle against one another and other first-year riders for the R&G Rookies' Trophy which returns after a successful maiden year.

The trophy is eligible for all riders making their debut in any class in the BSB series with the overall winner receiving ?500 in cash, as well as ?1000 worth of R&G products.

Last season Luke Mossey was hugely impressive in his rookie campaign in the superbike class by taking the BSB Riders' Cup but he narrowly missed out on the R&G Rookies' Trophy to Moto3 champion Scott Deroue.

This year, the leading lights for the rookie competition in BSB are British Supersport graduates Irwin, Hornsey and Rispoli who will look to reignite their rivalry from 2015 in the premier class. The trio are joined by debutant Smrz, brother of BSB regular Jakub, who switches from the German IDM Superbike championship.

Additionally, Eurosport presenter and former racer James Whitham will pick his 'Rookie of the Meeting' at each round based on performance, conduct and effort over a race weekend with the winner receiving a set of R&G Aero knee sliders.

"The R&G Rookies' Trophy proved to be a great success last year, so we're very excited to have it returning for 2016," BSB Series Director Stuart Higgs said. "As has become customary, this season sees a strong line-up of newcomers joining the series and riders stepping up to new classes, so the Rookies' Trophy is a perfect way to reward them."



Loading Comments...