Sean Emmett on the Monstermob Ducati leads the field into the final qualifying with Dean Thomas the second second fastest rider at Brands for the second round of the British Superbike championship. Joint championship leader John Reynolds takes third and Glen Richards makes up the front row.

Monstermob Ducati rider Sean Emmett, who has been fastest in Saturday's practice sessions, went 0.07secs faster than last year's lap record set by Rizla Suzuki's John Reynolds. Emmett's provisional pole time is 46.112secs, but is confident he can break into the 45secs territory in this afternoon's qualifying, where he will be using two rear tyres instead of just the one as in this morning's session.

Dean Thomas, on the Sendo Ducati Dienza, made a late attempt at Emmett but could only manage second place on the grid with a time 0.2secs slower than the Monstermob Ducati. John Reynolds, who spent most of the session on his Rizla Suzuki in second place behind Emmett, was displaced by Thomas in the dying stages. Following his displacement by Thomas, Reynolds went out with a new rear tyre, and although he improved his time he couldn't take back his second place.

The highest placed Hawk Kawasaki of Glen Richards makes up the final place of the front row.

Reynolds team mate Yukio Kagayama managed to pip Scott Smart into fifth in the last ten minutes as the pair fought it out on track for the grid position. Michael Rutter, on the highest placed HM Honda seemed to struggle with rear grip but still managed to qualify on a provisional seventh.

Rutter's Japanese team mate Ryuichi Kiyonari, who, like Kagayama, has never raced here before could only manage to get a twelfth. Kiyonari tried to better this time but in his attempt lost the rear coming out of Graham Hill bend, the first of only two left hand bends here at Brands Hatch.

A surprise to the top ten is two Superbike Cup challengers, Sam Corke on his Sovereign engineering Suzuki and Jon Kirkham also on a Suzuki, in eighth and tenth respectively. Sandwiched between the Cup challengers is ETI Ducati's Stuart Easton in ninth.

Top ten first qualifying

1.Sean Emmett 46.112secs Monstermob Ducati
2.Dean Thomas 46.348secs Sendo Ducati Dienza
3.John Reynolds 46.358secs Rizla Suzuki
4.Glen Richards 46.375secs Hawk Kawasaki
5.Yukio Kagayama 46.473secs Rizla Suzuki
6.Scott Smart 46.517secs Hawk Kawasaki
7.Michael Rutter 46.611secs HM Plant Honda
8.*Sam Corke 47.013secs Sovereign Engineering Racing Suzuki
9.Stuart Easton 47.048secs ETI Racing Ducati
10.*Jon Kirkham 47.071secs Jon Kirkham Racing Suzuki

* denotes Superbike Cup Contender