HM Honda rider Ryuichi Kiyonari set the fastest time in the second qualifying at the 13th round of British Superbikes from Donington Park with a scorching lap, nearly a whole second quicker than second placed Sean Emmett.

Kiyonari, who hopes to impress the Honda HRC bosses to secure a ride for 2005, put in an extremely dominating performance to secure his first pole of the season. His time was 0.858secs faster than Monstermobs Emmett.

"I am very happy with my first pole position for HM Plant Honda Racing," commented Kiyonari. "I have ridden at Donington Park last year in MotoGP and we have tested the CBR1000RR Fireblade here too earlier in the season. This has made all the difference to my qualifying performance.

"I have not got the same experience of the other tracks that we have visited this year. Tomorrow I am going to push hard for what I hope to be my first win in the British Superbike championship."

Micahel Rutter, team-mate to Kiyonari, was fastest in the mornings session but could not match the pace of his Honda counterpart or the Ducati rider, who are both in search of confirmed rides next season.

Hawk Kawasaki rider Glen Richards continued his good form to take the fourth fastest time overall in the second session.

Championship leader John Reynolds closely follows Richards, setting the sixth fastest time. Reynolds only needs eight points in Sunday's two races to secure the championship. It is likely he will make sure he finishes the first race with the necessary points to take the championship, and will then go all out in the second to end on a high.

Reynolds team-mate, Yukio Kagayama, fell twice in the second session. Both falls occurred at Coppice Corner, and resulted in no injury. However the Japanese rider was unable to finish the session, despite receiving help from the marshals to try and bump start his spare Suzuki. As a result he finished the session in eighth.

Final qualifying top ten
1. Ryuichi Kiyonari
2. Sean Emmett
3. Michael Rutter
4. Glen Richards
5. John Reynolds
6. John McGuinness
7. Dean Thomas
8. Yukio Kagayama
9. Scott Smart
10. Steve Plater



Loading Comments...