Click here for full BSB race two results from Brands Hatch GP

Shane Byrne has extended his winning run to four consecutive victories in the MCE British Superbike championship with his double at Brands Hatch GP after his nearest rivals Josh Brookes and Dan Linfoot both crashed out.

After following Linfoot in the blast off of the start line, Byrne made short work of getting to the front with a dive up the inside at Hawthorns on the opening lap and quickly set to work building a gap on the chasing pack.

With the Be Wiser Ducati rider setting a new fastest lap Brookes got past Linfoot on lap three before disaster struck for the Honda rider a lap later when he low-sided off at Druids.

But the pressure was still on Byrne when Brookes claimed his own new fastest lap record with a 1m 24.873s to close within half a second of the defending BSB champion. However, Brookes saw his race ended early when he tucked the front end of his Anvil Hire Yamaha at Surtees to tumble out of contention.

With Byrne and Brookes setting a rapid pace at the front before the Australia rider crashed out, Byrne found himself with a useful cushion on James Ellison at the midway stage of the race.

Using his wealth of BSB experience around Brands Hatch, Byrne maintained his advantage over the chasing Ellison to clinch his 17th BSB win at his home circuit and with it a double-double to strengthen his grip on the BSB title tussle.

With Ellison second, Christian Iddon held on to third place on his injury comeback for Tyco BMW as Peter Hickman narrowly missed out on the BSB podium again for Smiths Racing BMW.

JG Speedfit Kawasaki's Leon Haslam held off team-mate Luke Mossey for fifth place ahead of sole remaining Honda of Jason O'Halloran.

Standout rookie Bradley Ray continued to impress for Buildbase Suzuki ahead of McAMS Yamaha's Michael Laverty as Jake Dixon completed the top ten on the RAF Reserves Kawasaki.

John Hopkins grabbed 11th place for Moto Rapido Ducati in a relatively lonely race having stretched clear ahead of a cluster of riders battling for the final points places.

Tommy Bridewell on the Team WD-40 Kawasaki got the better of Lee Jackson (Smiths Racing BMW) at the chequered flag as Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) and Taylor Mackenzie (Bennetts Suzuki) completed the points places.



Loading Comments...