Jason Plato has been awarded the British Racing Drivers Club Silver Star award for the fourth time.

Plato received his award, for the best performance at national level over the course of the season, at the annual BRDC awards ceremony in London.

It marked the fourth time that Plato has won the award, and the second year in succession.

Darren Turner, Plato's team-mate for the past two years in the SEAT Sport UK team, took the Woolf Barnato Trophy for finishing as the highest placed British or Commonwealth driver in a British car in the Le Mans 24 Hours.

Turner once again shared the award with David Brabham after the pair defending their La Sarthe GT1 class title with the Aston Martin Racing team.

Alexander Sims, who competed in the BTCC-supporting Formula Renault UK Championship during the 2008 campaign, was also given an award as he picked up the Chris Bristow Trophy.

The honour came after he was named as the winner of the BRDC McLaren Autosport Young Drive of the Year award.



Loading Comments...