The HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship has announced a new expanded manufacturers/constructors championship for the 2009 season.

The move will ensure that Vauxhall won't win the manufacturers' crown by default following SEAT's withdrawal from the sport, with teams which build their own cars also now eligible to fight for the crown.

As a result, the Team Dynamics Honda Civic and Team Aon Focus will go up against Vauxhall's Vectra for the crown, while Dynamics and the Arena-run Aon outfit will also be eligible for the Independents' title.

"This expanded championship will produce added competition within that category," series boss Alan Gow said, "whilst also providing greater recognition for those teams who have used the BTCC's local homologation regulations to introduce cars of their own design, as opposed to those who have bough cars already developed by other manufacturers and/or teams."



Loading Comments...