Alex MacDowall has become the youngest driver to secure pole in the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship after topping the times during a wet qualifying session at Snetterton.

The teenager headed an all-Chevrolet front-row after outpacing team-mate Jason Plato by just 0.094secs - marking the first time this season that the car has qualified on the front row of the grid.

Tom Chilton was third quickest in the first of the LPG-powered Team Aon Fords, although his team-mate Tom Onslow-Cole will start from the back of the grid after failing the ride height test twice during the session, which resulted in his times being lost. That may be down to contact with the Astra of Martin Johnson early in the session.

Mat Jackson was fourth quickest in his BMW ahead of Gordon Shedden and Andrew Jordan, with championship leader Matt Neal left with work to do from seventh in his ballast-laden Honda Civic.

Paul O'Neill was eighth despite running off track late in the session, with James Nash and Tom Boardman completing the top ten.

Steven Kane and Rob Collard just missed out on the top ten, the latter having missed the early stages of the session as WSR worked on fitting a wet set-up to his car.


Loading Comments...