1 - Jason Plato:

Back in 2001, Jason Plato clinched his maiden BTCC title, but he must have wondered in recent years if a second was going to arrive...

Despite his undoubted speed and talent, Plato had finished as runner-up on three occasions but went into 2010 armed with a new car in the shape of the Chevrolet Cruze and now with manufacturer backing after his RML-run Lacetti was an Independent entry in 2009.

A double podium at Thruxton was a good start to the year and a first win for the car then arrived second time out at Rockingham. Although the Brands Hatch GP meeting was nothing short of a disaster, with two retirements, Plato bounced back to take his second win of the year at Oulton Park and arrived at the mid-point of the season just behind arch rival Matt Neal.

As was the case twelve months earlier, the mid-season test at Snetterton was to be the turning point for Plato as RML found new speed in the car that enabled Plato to charge to the top of the standings. A double success at Snetterton was followed by a further win at Knockhill and a stunning drive through the field at Donington Park, where he came back from a race one to DNF to finish on the podium.

Heading to the season finale on top of the pile, the title was Plato's to lose but in fairness, that was never going to happen, and he duly took two more wins to end the year with a second championship crown in his pocket.

As well as a second, deserved, title, Plato's seven victories moved him level with Andy Rouse on 60 BTCC victories leaving him needing just one trip to the top of the podium in 2011 to become the all-time winner in series history.

Statistics - Jason Plato:

Team: Silverline ChevroletCar: Chevrolet Cruze (S2000)

Championship position: 1stPoints: 260

Victories: 7Podiums: 9 (excludes victories)Best result: 1st (Rockingham, Oulton Park, Snetterton [2], Knockhill, Brands Hatch Indy [2])Points finishes: 26



Loading Comments...