Top 10 BTCC Drivers of the Year 2011:2: Frank Wrathall

Team: Dynojet RacingCar: Toyota Avensis (NGTC)Wins: 0 Podiums: 4Championship points: 65Championship position: 12

A look at the finishing results through the first half of the 2011 season would suggest that the move into the BTCC hadn't gone to plan for Ginetta graduate Frank Wrathall, with just three classified finishes in the first 15 races of the season as his family-run Dynojet team dealt with a range of teething issues with its NGTC-spec Toyota Avensis.

However, after plenty of hard work through the summer break, things couldn't have been more different when racing resumed at Snetterton for the second half of the season...

The Toyota proved to be a car transformed and Wrathall was allowed to show his undoubted potential behind the wheel, with a fourth place finish in Norfolk being easily the best result for an NGTC-spec car until that point. The trip to Scotland saw him go one better, taking two third place finishes, while another pair of podiums - including a second place finish - then followed at Rockingham. It was a run of form that saw Wrathall join Andrew Jordan as the only two drivers to secure four successive podium finishes.

Although the remaining races would see him finish no higher than ninth, Wrathall had clearly displayed all the talent that has seen him marked out as a champion of the future as he took the fight to drivers with much greater levels of experience on track - and managed to beat many on occasions.

A year of experience with the NGTC car could give Wrathall an advantage next year despite the fact that the big teams will also be running the Next Generation machinery, but a first win can't be far away.

BTCC Driver of the Year Top 10:3. Matt Neal4. James Nash5. Mat Jackson6. Jason Plato7. Andrew Jordan8. Paul O'Neill9. Rob Austin10. Tom Onslow-Cole



Loading Comments...