Top 10 BTCC Drivers of the Year 2012:3: Jason Plato

Team: MG KX Momentum RacingCar: MG6 GT (NGTC)Wins: 6Podiums: 16Pole Positions: 5Fastest laps: 7Championship points - Overall/Independents: 376/NAChampionship position - Overall/Independents: 3/NA

Having maintained a title challenge with his normally aspirated Chevrolet in 2011, many were excited about seeing what Jason Plato could do with a turbo-powered version of the car in 2012.

Instead however, Plato made the switch to Triple Eight - the team that took him to his first title - to spearhead the MG challenge as it made a welcome return to the series with the 6 GT.

The late nature of the deal meant no pre-season testing but the car was a winner first time out at Brands Hatch - despite there being plenty still to be done with the package.

Plato would go on to win six times in total during the season with a an impressive 16 visits to the podium - but more retirements that his rivals would be the key factor in him only finishing the season third.

In total he wouldn't be classified six times, failing to take the start on more than one occasion and having his much discussed clash with Aron Smith at Knockhill.

In the dry, Plato was a strong force although the MG wasn't anywhere near as strong in the wet - as was seen on Finals Day. With a busy winter ahead as the team works to discover more potential in the car, Plato will be a strong contender for the title again next year.'s BTCC Driver of the Year:

4. Mat Jackson5. Andrew Jordan6. Frank Wrathall7. Matt Neal8. Rob Collard9. Aron Smith10. Tom Onslow-Cole



Loading Comments...