Organisers of the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship have confirmed that the Jack Sears Trophy will continue in 2014, despite the demise of Super 2000-spec machinery in the series.

The new award was handed out for the first time in 2013 to the driver who took most victories amongst the S2000 class over the course of the year, with Lea Wood taking home the crown thanks to 18 wins in 30 races.

With the full 32 car field set to be made up of Next Generation Touring Car-spec machinery in 2014, TOCA was forced to look for an alternative use for the Trophy, named after the winner of the inaugural BTCC title back in 1958.

It has now been confirmed that the Jack Sears Trophy will be handed out to the Independent driver who makes up the most places from the their respective grid positions over the course of the 2014 season.

The starting and finishing positions for each race will be logged during the campaign, with the combined highest total then securing the Jack Sears Trophy at the end of the year.

Had the system been in place for 2013, Dan Welch would have taken the title in his Proton.



Loading Comments...