WSR MG Scottish star Anthony Reid blasted to pole position at home today in qualifying for the British Touring Car Championship at Knockhill.

Reid, who was fastest in the first practice session and third fastest in the second practice session of the day, looked the man to beat in the session = as he set first one then another lap record as the BTCC made its return to Knockhill.

Whilst Reid was a model of composure on track the second fastest man at the end of the session was a complete contrast in his driving style. By far the most spectacular man on the 1.3 mile circuit track, with maximum two-wheel action down Duffus Dip and barely in control into McIntyre, Tom Chilton will start race one tomorrow right beside Reid. Should be interesting as the pair clashed at Croft last time out.

Despite the success ballast from his podium in that last race at Croft, Reid's team-mate in the other WSR MG, Colin Turkington impressed with his third fastest time in the session. Joining him on the second row of the grid for the first race on Sunday is James Thompson, who had a moment causing the end of the session with a few seconds left to run.

Thompson's engine had let go and Matt Neal came across the VX Racing Astra rather rapidly and the damage to Neal's car was far less than that to Thompson's.

SEAT's strength was underlined by Rob Huff's fifth fastest time in the session - the SEAT man was on the second step of the podium in the last race at Croft, whilst team-mate Plato starts exactly where he wants to finish the first race, in tenth.

It wasn't the best of sessions for Team Computeach Racing with Halfords, even notwithstanding Neal's impact with Thompson. Dan Eaves and Neal line up in six and seventh for race one, but at least it was better for them than it was for Yvan Muller, who was outqualified by Luke Hines and lines up next to old buddy Plato tomorrow morning.

Top ten qualifiers
1. Anthony Reid 54.676secs
2. Tom Chilton 54.712secs
3. Colin Turkington 54.732secs
4. James Thompson 54.766secs
5. Rob Huff 54.812secs
6. Dan Eaves 54.933secs
7. Matt Neal 55.025secs
8. Luke Hines 55.067secs
9. Yvan Muller 55.071secs
10. Jason Plato 55.185secs


Loading Comments...