Matt Neal took victory in the second Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship race of the weekend to give Honda two wins from two at Thruxton.

Neal followed team-mate Gordon Shedden through the opening laps before making his move at Church on lap six, moving up the inside of the sister Civic into a lead he would hold to the finish.

Shedden did his best to defend second at the wheel of his ballast-laden car but when he was slow out of the chicane on lap ten, Andrew Jordan was able to get ahead into second, although he was unable to chase down the leader ahead.

Jordan took the chequered flag more than two seconds behind Neal with Shedden holding on to take third despite the best efforts of Tim Chilton through the final laps, while Mat Jackson and James Nash completed the top six, although only after some robust defensive driving from Jackson on the run to the chequered flag on the final lap of the race.

Alex MacDowall was seventh in an improved race for the normally aspirated machines with team-mate Jason Plato coming from the back of the grid to take eighth place. Tom Boardman, who managed to save a lurid slide on the opening lap of the race, took ninth with Tony Gilham tenth - the pair having got ahead of Paul O'Neill with two laps to go when the Tech-Speed driver suffered a gearbox gremlin two laps from the end.

O'Neill therefore took eleventh ahead of Jeff Smith, Andy Neate and Rob Collard - who was tipped into a spin by MacDowall while fighting for position on lap ten - while John George, Nick Foster and Liam Griffin completed the finishers.

Chris James was an early retirement while technical problems meant Tom Onslow-Cole, Frank Wrathall and Rob Austin all missed the start.



Loading Comments...