Jason Plato saw off the challenge of the turbo-powered cars to secure victory in the final Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship race of the weekend at Thruxton.

Starting from the front row of the grid, Plato beat polesitter Tom Boardman and a quick-starting Mat Jackson into Allard for the first time and then led throughout as the field squabbled for position behind.

Jackson threatened early on but was left to fend off Boardman as the race wore on, with the pair only managing to close on Plato when the Safety Car was deployed after Tom Chilton slid off into the barriers at Allard in his Ford Focus.

Plato ultimately took his third win of the campaign by just under one and a half seconds, with Jackson and Boardman following him home - the latter scoring a BTCC podium for the first time.

James Nash was fourth in his Vauxhall Vectra having closed on Boardman following the Safety Car period, while Honda pair Matt Neal and Gordon Shedden took fifth and sixth. Andrew Jordan took seventh place having run off the road while following Chilton when the Ford man had his accident, while Alex MacDowall, Tony Gilham and Tom Onslow-Cole completed the scorers - the AmD Milltek driver having started at the back after missing the second race of the weekend with an exhaust manifold issue.

Jeff Smith and Andy Neate finished just outside the points in eleventh and twelfth, with Rob Collard, Paul O'Neill, Liam Griffin John George, Nick Foster and Chris James completing the finishers.

Aside from Chilton, Frank Wrathall was an early retirement when his Toyota ground to a halt, while Rob Austin again failed to make it to the start after his Audi's gremlins continued.



Loading Comments...