Laser Tools Racing's Aiden Moffat has taken his first ever British Touring Car Championship after leading Matt Neal across the line at Donington Park.

The 20-year old started the opening race from fourth position but managed to pick his way ahead of the leading Toyotas to eventually claim a maiden BTCC win by 1.5s ahead of triple champion Neal.

Immediate contact at the start of the race meant Tom Ingram emerged from turn one with the lead of the race ahead of Rob Austin and Jack Goff.

The leading Toyotas made slight contact heading into Redgate, which handed Ingram the initiative while Goff remarkably held control of his Honda Civic Type-R to remain in third for the time being.

While Ingram threatened the stretch away at the front, Goff's race went from bad to worse and the Eurotech driver ended the opening lap in 19th despite starting from the front row.

It didn't take long for Moffat to press home the advantage of running without any ballast as the leading Mercedes A-Class began to make his intentions clear by moving into second on lap three.

Moffat quickly closed the gap to the race leading Toyota and made light work of dispatching Ingram on the fifth lap of the race.

As the ballast began to take its toll on Ingram's Avensis, Moffat took the opportunity to establish clean air between himself and the chasing pack.

Ingram's defence over second position was valiant, but the Speedworks driver ultimately had to give best and dropped down to fifth on lap six.

It was whilst Ingram attempted to protect his second place, Moffat made the crucial race winning break, which allowed the Mercedes to cross the line in comfortable fashion ahead of Neal.

Handy Motorsport's Austin was able to consolidate his place on the podium in third while Team BMW's Colin Turkington produced a fine recovery from tenth to finish in fourth.

Ingram managed to hold on for fifth ahead of the charging Rob Collard in sixth. Adam Morgan was seventh in the sister Mercedes A-Class machine, just 0.2s ahead of reigning champion Gordon Shedden as they crossed the line.

Eurotech Racing's Jeff Smith ended his opening race in ninth ahead of Maximum Motorsport's Josh Cook in tenth.



Loading Comments...