Matt Neal heads a Honda 1-2-3 in first BTCC practice at Rockingham, held in challenging damp conditions at the Northamptonshire circuit.

Dave Newsham and Frank Wrathall follow behind in their Toyotas with the Audi of Will Bratt in sixth; the field not being overly concerned with chasing quick times given the conditions on circuit.

There are still incidents on track however, with a brief red flag after Liam Griffin goes off at Pif Paf and Aron Smith also taking a trip into the gravel.

Howard Fuller is the best of the weekend newcomers in 17th with debutant Andy Wilmot in 25th. Tom Onslow-Cole's first run in the Airwaves Racing Ford Focus sees him 18th quickest.

1. Matt NealHonda Yuasa RacingHonda Civic1min 34.978secs
2. Gordon SheddenHonda Yuasa RacingHonda Civic1min 35.111secs
3. Andrew JordanPirtek RacingHonda Civic1min 35.741secs
4. Dave NewshamSpeedworksToyota Avensis1min 35.743secs
5. Frank WrathallDynojetToyota Avensis1min 35.842secs
6. Will BrattRob Austin RacingAudi A41min 35.987secs
7. Sam TordoffMG KX Momentum RacingMG6 GT1min 35.994secs
8. Mat JacksonAirwaves RacingFord Focus1min 36.204secs
9. Jason PlatoMG KX Momentum RacingMG6 GT1min 36.224secs
10. Adam MorganCiceley RacingToyota Avensis1min 36.413secs
11. Ollie JacksonSpeedworksToyota Avensis1min 36.710secs
12. Rob AustinWix RacingAudi A41min 36.792secs
13. Colin TurkingtoneBay MotorsBMW 125i M-Sport1min 36.854secs
14. Jeff SmithPirtek RacingHonda Civic1min 36.890secs
15. Aron SmithAirwaves RacingFord Focus1min 37.167secs
16. Nick FostereBay MotorsBMW 125i M-Sport1min 37.176secs
17. Howard FullerRCIB Insurance RacingVauxhall Insignia1min 37.942secs
18. Tom Onslow-ColeAirwaves RacingFord Focus1min 37.988secs
19. Jack GoffRCIB Insurance RacingVauxhall Insignia 1min 38.033secs
20. Rob CollardeBay MotorsBMW 125i M-Sport1min 38.240secs
21. Andy NeateTeam Club 44Chevrolet Cruze 1min 38.648secs
22. Warren ScottBMR RestartVolkswagen CC 1min 38.965secs
23. Dan WelchWelch AutomotiveProton Gen-21min 39.320secs
24. Lea WoodWheel Heaven/Houseman Racing Vauxhall Vectra 1min 39.297secs S
25. Andy Racing Volkswagen CC1min 39.808secs
26. Liam GriffinAddison Lee MotorbaseFord Focus 1min 41.894secs S
27. David NyeWelch AutomotiveFord Focus 1min 45.115secs S

S denotes S2000 car in the Jack Sears Trophy


Loading Comments...