Mattias Ekstrom has confirmed Audi's statement of intent after setting the quickest time in this morning's DTM FP1 session at the Hockenheimring.

Audi come to the final DTM weekend of the season with the intention of snatching the manufacturer's title away from BMW.

Ekstrom has initiated the Audi charge in the best fashion possible by setting a 1 minute 34.136 second lap around the Hockenheimring, which was good enough to beat Mercedes' Daniel Juncadella's by a slender eight-hundredths.

2014 drivers' champion Marco Wittmann has again found himself spearheading the BMW cause and ended FP1 directly ahead of his team colleague Timo Glock, who was fourth fastest for Team MTEK.

Team Phoenix's Timo Scheider led an Audi five - six - seven ahead of Adrien Tambay and Miguel Molina while BMW's Antonio Felix da Costa followed the trio in eighth position.

Paul di Resta was the second of only two C-Coupe machines to make the top ten in ninth. Mercedes have brought a raft of aero-upgrades to their 2014 DTM challenger in a bid to close the gap towards BMW and Audi.

DTM Rookie Nico Muller completed the top ten order for Rosberg Audi.



Loading Comments...