DTM organisers have confirmed the opening two rounds of the 2017 season but will not announce the full race calendar until it is finalised.

The 2017 campaign begins at its usual opening base Hockenheim on the 5th-7th May, joined by the German round of the World Rallycross championship, before heading to East Germany for Lausitzring two weeks later on the 19th-21st May.

DTM organisers also announced 'the final planning for the seven other rounds' in still under negotiations regarding venues and dates and the full 2017 calendar is expected to be confirmed in the coming weeks.

In 2017 the DTM grid will slim from 24 to 18 entries - six per manufacturer Audi, Mercedes and BMW - as two-time DTM champion Marco Wittmann looks to defend his title with BMW Team RMG. Audi claimed the manufacturers' DTM crown in 2016.