DTM has confirmed a return to Brands Hatch as part of the 2018 race calendar in a major shake-up of the series next season with five rounds hosted outside of Germany.

The German touring car series has expanded its race calendar from nine to ten rounds, with 20 races in total in 2018, welcoming back Brands Hatch, which last hosted DTM in 2013 on its Indy configuration and will use the Grand Prix layout next year, plus the new addition of Misano in Italy. With trips to the Netherlands (Zandvoort), Austria (Red Bull Ring) and Hungary (Hungaroring) half of the 2018 DTM calendar is set outside of the national series home.

Hockenheim retains its traditional season opener and finale slot with Lausitzring hosting the second round. Norising welcomes DTM back to its home nation for round four after the Hungaroring before a three-round trip away. The Nurburgring hosts round eight before a final race weekend away to Spielberg before the campaign climaxes back at Hockenheim.

“Five events in Germany, five abroad – DTM is becoming somewhat more international without neglecting its German roots,” Gerhard Berger, CEO of DTM’s umbrella organisation ITR, said. “With England and Italy two important markets of the premium-car manufacturers Audi, BMW and Mercedes make their comeback on the DTM calendar.

“Furthermore, I’m delighted that DTM keeps on racing at the Lausitzring – even after the circuit was sold [to Dekra as a test facility]. With the new owner Dekra, our long-term partners, we could make sure that the Eastern-German DTM enthusiasts also will be provided spectacular touring-car racing.”

2018 DTM calendar:

4-6 May Hockenheim

18-20 May Lausitzring

1-3 June Budapest

22-24 June Norisring

13-15 July Zandvoort

11-12 August Brands Hatch

24-26 August Misano

7-9 September Nürburgring

21-23 September Spielberg

12-14 October Hockenheim


Loading Comments...