Team Abt's Miguel Molina has successfully converted his hard fought pole position into a first win of the 2016 DTM season after leading home an Audi 1-2 ahead of Jamie Green.

It's the first time Molina has stepped onto the podium since winning the second Nurburgring race last season.

Molina now moves to within three points of reaching the top-ten having endured what has been a difficult start to the season for the Spaniard.

Incidentally, BMW's Marco Wittmann has now taken over the championship lead despite falling from third to fourth. Mercedes' Robert Wickens managed to jump ahead of the German but the 2014 champion still leaped ahead of Paul di Resta, thanks to the HWA driver's pointless finish in 13th.

Christian Vietoris was fifth aboard his Mercedes C63 ahead of Mattias Ekstrom and Lucas Auer in sixth and seventh.

Team Abt's Edoardo Mortara gathered further points in eighth position, which has allowed to Italian to also jump ahead of Di Resta in the title race to second.

Maxime Martin was the latter of only two BMWs to grace the top ten while Audi's Nico Muller scored the final point in tenth.



Loading Comments...