Click here for full DTM Moscow race one results

Robert Wickens has claimed his second DTM win of the year and with it the championship lead from Marco Wittmann with a comfortable victory in the soaking wet at Moscow Raceway, leading home a Mercedes quartet with Paul di Resta second, Gary Paffett third and Max Gotz in fourth.

Race one in Russia was forced to start behind the safety car due to the torrential rain falling on the Moscow Raceway but after three laps the full action got underway, with pole sitter Paffett allowing both Wickens and di Resta pass due to their superior position in the DTM championship.

With clear air and no spray, Wickens duly converted his opportunity with ease to stroll to victory with di Resta holding second from Paffett as Gotz completed the Mercedes dominance.

Former leader Wittmann endured a race to forget by eventually slipping to ninth for just his second non-points finish of the campaign.

Mattias Ekstrom was the nearest challenger to the Mercedes four by taking fifth for Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline, while Maxime Martin was BMW's best finisher in sixth.

Jamie Green closed to within a point of Wittmann thanks to his seventh place finish as Edoardo Mortara, Timo Scheider and Felix Rosenqvist completing the points-paying positions, the latter scoring a point on his DTM race debut having filled in for F1-bound Esteban Ocon.



Loading Comments...